EDITORIAL II – What to expect short term

In absence of an about page or any form of introduction, I would like to take this opportunity to elaborate on what is coming up over the next couple of months.

On Sunday I will be attending and covering the Chap Olympiad. This is an annual event run by Chap magazine. A brief description can be found among galleries and links to ticket sales on the official event website [HERE].

“Having run annually from 2005, the Chap Olympiad has become Britain’s most eccentric sporting event, attracting Londoners to this now famous “celebration of athletic ineptitude and immaculate trouser creases”.

This week I also put the finishing touches on my travel plans for the end of August. Travelling to six beautiful cities in northern Europe over 18 days: Moscow, St. Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm, Oslo & Copenhagen. I intend to document my experiences as thoroughly as possible to aid and assist anyone else wanting to visit these less well travelled cities.

Last week I pre-ordered a Butterfly Labs Jalapeno. This ASIC (application specific integrated circuit) is a cryptographic processor designed specifically for bitcoin mining. I will cover mining and associated technology before it arrives and expect a full review when it does. The company website can be found [HERE].

I am yet to receive my Raspberry Pi, so expect full coverage of that when it arrives and my first forays into Python programming. I will also be covering the next London Raspberry Pi Jam on the 25th of July as I am helping to organise it.

As stated previously I will be endeavouring to cover basic overclocking on my main computer, looking at benchmarking software as well as how-to’s on the overclocking itself. I will also show you some of the things that can be done with a powerful computer that don’t necessarily consist of Call of Duty.

This will go side by side with the repurposing of my laptop as a Linux machine, I will be upgrading RAM and HDD and attempting to squeeze as much performance out of it as possible. It will become my secure internet browser, bitcoin wallet and mining management machine.

There are a couple of things you haven’t seen yet that I will be including when they come to fruition. I have a Zead Z-250 & Z-200 on my desk at the minute. These are a high gain wifi-dongle and mobile broadband dongle respectively. I am testing them at the moment and will post results once I have finished putting them through their paces. The website for them can be found [HERE].

I will also be including sporadic posts on humanities based on the books I am reading at the time. For instance, at the moment I am working my way through “The Structure of Competitive Industry” by E A G Robinson (1931) and am currently outlining a post or two from that.

I will also be covering various historical and current people that I think are not necessarily given the attention or regard that they should be. This feature will probably take the form of some kind of biographical introduction combined with why I think they are important.

Finally, starting my physics degree in September will see the commencement of the science posts that imparted this journal with its name. Don’t worry; I won’t be sticking to the syllabus exclusively.

So that covers just about everything to expect over the coming months.

Regards

John

Leave a Reply

